2010 Aldeburgh First Collection Prize

The 2010 Aldeburgh First Collection Prize shortlist was announced the other day. The jury received a record total of ninety-five collections.  A Quechua Confession Manual by Sheila Hillier was selected for the shortlist of six titles by the judges Michael Laskey, Neil Rollinson and Jo Shapcott.  I am extremely pleased by this outcome.  As I wrote for the back of this collection, Hillier's collection is one of the best debuts in England for years.  The winner will be announced at the 22nd Aldeburgh Poetry Festival at 8pm on Friday 5 November 2010.

The other shortlisted poets are:
Christian Campbell Running the Dusk (Peepal Tree Press)
Robert Dickinson Micrographia (Waterloo Press)
Katharine Towers The Floating Man (Picador Poetry)
Sam Willetts New Light for the Old Dark (Cape Poetry)
Tony Williams The Corner of Arundel Lane and Charles Street (Salt Publishing)


Popular posts