Blomer Shortlisted for The Lampert

The Gerald Lampert Memorial Award is given in the memory of Gerald Lampert, an arts administrator who organized authors' tours and took a particular interest in the work of new writers.

The award recognizes the best first book of poetry published by a Canadian in the preceding year. The Award carries a prize of $1,000 and is sponsored by the League of Canadian Poets. It is presented each year at the League's Annual General Meeting in May or June, with the shortlist announced in April.

The Gerald Lampert Award Shortlist for 2007:

a broken mirror, fallen leaf by Yvonne Blomer (Ekstasis Editions);
In the Lights of a Midnight Plow by David Hickey (Biblioasis);
Tacoma Narrows by Mitchell Parry (Goose Lane Editions);
Anatomy of Keys by Steven Price (Brick Books);
Wide Slumber for Lepidopterists by A. Rawlings (Coach House Books);
Every Inadequate Name by Nick Thran (Insomniac Press).

The 2007 Jury: Heidi Greco, Brian Henderson, Alison Pick.

Eyewear wishes to congratulate all the nominees. Yvonne Blomer (pictured) studied with me for the MA at UEA, and so I am natutally pleased to see her debut collection on this list. She's a good poet.

A review of this book is to appear shortly at Eyewear, starting a new feature of occasional reviews by other writers.


Popular posts from this blog

TOP 12 SONGS OF 2019